lasasdevelopment.blogg.se

Power supply for mac mini g4
Power supply for mac mini g4








power supply for mac mini g4
  1. #Power supply for mac mini g4 how to
  2. #Power supply for mac mini g4 mac osx
  3. #Power supply for mac mini g4 full
  4. #Power supply for mac mini g4 Pc
  5. #Power supply for mac mini g4 download

#Power supply for mac mini g4 full

A full description of this process is posted on my blog, if you need more details. I also chose to put a piece of material between the power supply and the case, as described here.Īfter all these measures, I now have a Powermac G4 MDD that is whisper quiet. The installation is not for the faint hearted, so if you're not good with electronics and fixing things, I wouldn't attempt it. These are actually the same fans as recommended on the above instructions at xlr8yourmac, so I was confident that they would do the job. So I chose to replace these with the fans that come on the Thermaltake Volcano 5 heatsink and fan combination - the Everflow model F126025DH, which spin at 4550rpm with a maximum airflow of 32CFM and a noise level of 31dBA. Read more about nap mode on the MDD.Īfter more research, I found that another main source of noise is from the standard power supply fans that come with the MDD G4. Some other models of Macs come with Nap Mode enabled as standard, like the G5 Power Macs and the PowerBook G4, so it's not a risk to use.

#Power supply for mac mini g4 download

Nap mode can be installed from For G4 MDD owners, you must download version 3.5.2 of CHUD from this page later versions do not work with MDD Powermacs. This made a massive difference, but also added a new noisy high-pitched sound from the power supply fans.

#Power supply for mac mini g4 mac osx

I also read about a software modification to Mac OSX called Nap Mode, which to cut a long story short, basically cycles the processors down into a "mini sleep" sort of mode, reducing the temperature and therefore the noise from the fans is quieter. It also cools the Mac just as well as the original Delta fan that came from Apple, only it's about 300% quieter.

power supply for mac mini g4

#Power supply for mac mini g4 how to

After that, though, it started to drive me crazy and I started a long campaign to quieten the thing down.įirst thing I did was search Google for information on how to do it, and I found this page, which documents in detail how to replace the main 120mm cooling fan.Īfter trying one fan that just didn't cool the G4 well enough, I found (on ) a SilenX 120x120x38mm fan (18dBA 90CFM) which is whisper quiet. I noticed when I first got it that it was a bit noisier than my old G4 533 Power Mac, but until my girlfriend's mother complained that it kept her awake all night, I didn't really take much notice of it. It has been a faithful servant so far for all sorts of stuff like video editing, music production, photos, web surfing, email and business duties, to name just a few. It's a Dual 1Ghz machine, which is commonly known as the Mirrored Drive Door (MDD) model due to its mirror finished optical drive doors. I've replaced many a G4 psu with an ATX one, it's easy as.I have owned an awesome Apple Powermac G4 for about two years now. Then ground the -5V wire - although, nowadays, most high end PSUs do that anyway.

#Power supply for mac mini g4 Pc

Now, there never was a G4 300, 350 was the lowest speed for the Yikes/Sawtooth models (You sure you are not talking about a Blue&White G3 - they take a standard ATX PSU, afaik), so if it's a Yikes or a Sawtooth all you need to do is connect the grey PG wire (power good, is unnecessary as macs delay start up anyway - on a pc this is the signal which mobo uses to let you know it's powered up after a second or so) to one of the dark yellow 3.3V ones. You can use a standard ATX power supply without too much modification - you just need to swap a couple of wires over on the plug. (The G4 is only 300MHz, so having only 1.6GHz isn't an issue.Ĭan someone give me some advice on what they should do? if this option where would I find a power supply for the G4? Replace the power supply myself, instead of paying $125 for someone to do it. Buy a used G4, or other used cheap mac under $600 What I want to know is which is the best option? This is not the first thing that has died on it, just a few months ago the Hard Drive died, but they got a new one. My parents have a G4 tower, it is like 8 years old, and the power supply had died.










Power supply for mac mini g4